Patient Like a Rainbow

10 Dec

I contemplated not writing this.  Just letting this space and its audience slowly fade in the same way it slowly grew. But if there’s anything I love more than coffee, it’s closure.

I created this as place for me almost 4 years ago – a journal of sorts, online only because an audience is sometimes the best way to create voice and focus in writing, and inspired by my friend Melissa Lee to share my experience with postpartum depression.  Any fear I felt with each press of the “publish” button evaporated with the kind feedback that filled my inbox, and soon the words came with a side of courage.

So I kept writing, and somewhere along the way, my words began to help people.

I am immensely grateful for that most of all.

“don’t be afraid should things happen to change
’cause change can be a beautiful thing
should things fall apart
be patient like a rainbow
life is loving and letting go”

– Brett Dennen, Don’t Forget

I’m not sure exactly how to be “patient like a rainbow,” but have felt a shift over the last year in my need to blog, my desire to write, and my place in the online community.  What began as a whisper last winter is suddenly as clear as day.  My love for this space and all it has given me at first left me in denial, but as I’ve begun to focus on other things, I’m now sure – it’s time to close this chapter and step away from personal blogging.

You can still find me writing for Postpartum Progress as a contributing editor and member of the Warrior Mom Leadership Team.  I’m honored to have joined the Postpartum Progress staff as the Warrior Mom Conference Director, and I’m absolutely loving my work over at Crocheted Happiness, creating little works of art from yarn.  I’ll be around.  Just not here.

Thank you so much for being a part of my journey, for reading and commenting.  For sharing and for encouraging me. And for helping me find my courage.  Writing here has been key to my recovery from postpartum depression and to my path into advocacy work and I will always be grateful for all the experiences and people it brought into my life.

With fondness and deep gratitude,

Susan

 

6 Responses to “Patient Like a Rainbow”

  1. ace1028 December 10, 2014 at 10:28 am #

    Oh! I will miss your words but I do totally understand. All the good that is out there for you is roaring and you’re ready for it.

    I cannot wait to meet you face-to-face and squeeze you hard this summer. xo

  2. Alexandra Rosas (@GDRPempress) December 10, 2014 at 10:39 am #

    I’ve heard it said, when it feels right, we do it. Good luck to you, friend. I hope to see your words again in other places.

  3. Dollops of Diane December 10, 2014 at 10:48 am #

    Congrats on taking this step. Knowing when to walk away and then actually doing it can be so hard! You are going to shine no matter where you are or what you do 🙂

  4. Jenni Chiu @MommyNaniBooboo December 10, 2014 at 12:13 pm #

    People will miss reading your words here, but it is good when we listen to ourselves… and are brave enough to change, grow, close the tabs that need to be closed…
    I’m glad I have other places to find you online. 😉

  5. Jenny Kanevsky December 10, 2014 at 1:07 pm #

    Good for you. So healthy, so beautifully written, so wonderful. You are moving into another chapter. Love this.

  6. Elan Morgan December 10, 2014 at 3:30 pm #

    I love all this space has given you. I’m glad you’re still writing!

Leave a Reply

