Climb Out of the Darkness 2014

2 Apr

Screen Shot 2014-04-02 at 3.08.38 PM

I’ve written extensively about my experiences suffering from postpartum depression, postpartum OCD, and antenatal depression and anxiety.  I don’t shy away from telling how devastating my first couple of years as a mother were, both for me and my family.  And I’ve told you how I found myself severely depressed when I was only 7 weeks pregnant with my second baby.

Today, I’m asking for your help.  I’m asking for you to support my work as an advocate for moms, for babies, and for families.

Postpartum Progress, and its founder Katherine Stone, were instrumental in my path to wellness.  Because of Katherine, I found an amazing doctor who gave me the tools (and the medications) to make my second pregnancy, delivery, and postpartum experiences joyful.  Because of Katherine, I found support from mothers just like me.  Because of Katherine, I found my voice as an advocate and writer.

Postpartum Progress is growing, taking on new challenges and projects, and is as dedicated as ever to decreasing stigma and increasing awareness of antenatal and postpartum mood and anxiety disorders.  And that?  Takes money.

15-20% of all women will get a perinatal mood or anxiety disorder like postpartum depression or postpartum anxiety. That’s 1 in every 7, more than the number of women who will get breast cancer.  That’s your mother, your sister, your daughter, your friend.  And quite possibly, you.

Please help me help new moms by donating to my Climb Out of the Darkness hike!  I’ll be climbing Mt. Washington with a team of women from Massachusetts and New Hampshire in June!  Yup, climbing a mountain.  Me.  Because that’s how much I love Katherine and believe in what Postpartum Progress is doing for women all over the world.

If you can’t donate, please pass this along.  Ask your friends, family, neighbors.  Let them know there is an army of Warrior Moms hiking in solidarity in June on the Summer Solstice.  Together we can drop kick despair.

6 Responses to “Climb Out of the Darkness 2014”

  1. motherhoodisnotforsissies April 2, 2014 at 3:19 pm #

    Climbing with you warrior mamma – you are ALL my inspiration and helped me heal. Its because of you that I am picking this put off the couch and will be hiking the biggest hill I can find.

  2. Kimberly M (@momgosomething) April 4, 2014 at 7:57 am #

    Go on with your bad selves 🙂
    I had to bow out last year because my kid broke his arm…silly kids. xoxo

  3. Alexandra Elizabeth May 1, 2014 at 11:43 am #

    Thank you for sharing. There is an overwhelming pressure to be happy when you’re pregnant, but many of us are not shooting rainbows out of our ass. I am so glad you found the resources you needed to help you and your growing family. It pains me that so many within our community are unable to secure those resources and suffer through pain – when they don’t have too.

    Your climb sounds absolutely amazing and I wish you all the best of luck in June!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How Is It May? | Learned Happiness - May 18, 2014

    […] but it’s been sponsorship emails to hospitals and pieces for local media.  Between the Climb Out of the Darkness and the Warrior Mom Conference, I’m getting a crash course in marketing and PR – and […]

  2. Love Is An Open Door: A Thank You Video | Learned Happiness - June 1, 2014

    […] you so much to all the Climb Out of the Darkness sponsors. As promised, my husband and perform Love Is An Open Door from Frozen. Poorly. I am not a […]

Leave a Reply

