On A Budget: Week Four (in which I crawl back on the wagon)

31 Mar

There’s something about the winters here in New England – being stuck inside where the germs multiply like rabbits and the air stagnates is a special kind of torture.  And it seems like once a virus breaks into our home, it’s guaranteed to take down every last one of us.

We spent almost three weeks fighting colds, viruses, and a nasty stomach bug, which meant that no one wanted to each much of anything.  Good for the budget, bad for our health.  When we did eat, it was scrambled eggs or toast, and dinner was whatever could be scrounged from the deep freezer.

But here we are, healthy and back on track (mostly).  I’ve planned the week’s menus and scheduled groceries for pickup tomorrow morning.  No matter that I forgot to buy bread while at Whole Foods today or that I’ve been to Target twice this week and each time forgot to buy Kleenex (my southern roots are showing, aren’t they?).  I’m trying to be kind to myself as the whole family attempts to get back to normal.

This Week’s Menu:

  • Monday – Grilled chicken with chipotle seasoning:  Good for fajitas, burritos, sandwiches, and more!  Tonight we’re having it on a bed of Texmati rice with a side of black beans.
  • Tuesday – Cooking a big batch of spaghetti sauce to freeze! Spaghetti with meat sauce, frozen mixed veggies
  • Wednesday – My mom cooks dinner.  SCORE!
  • Thursday – Chicken and cheese quesadillas.
  • Friday – Grilled Salmon with honey/soy glaze, roasted asperagus
  • Saturday – Pizza night (because I fear there will be a mutiny)
  • Sunday – Leftovers

The Spend:

  • Whole Foods: $59.33  I’ll buy the salmon Friday morning so it’s fresh, adding another $10 later in the week.
  • Stop and Shop: $44.31
  • Total Spent this week: $103.64, $113.64 after the salmon.
  • Savings this week compared to the original $140 weekly bill: $26.36, bringing my total savings since beginning this 4-week budget experiment to $136.36!

This is my last week to post on the blog about my adventures in grocery shopping and budgets.  What did I learn?

  1. Small changes in your purchases can really add up.
  2. Shopping in the store isn’t necessarily worth your time.  If you have delivery or pick-up options, shopping online is worth the additional $5-10 you may spend, depending on how much time you have and how hard it is to shop in person.
  3. You don’t really have to sacrifice quality or the foods you love to decrease your weekly grocery bill.  Planning ahead, keeping in mind what’s on sale, and choosing meals that you can adapt for other nights can all help keep costs down.

One Response to “On A Budget: Week Four (in which I crawl back on the wagon)”

  1. jess March 31, 2014 at 2:49 pm #

    That’s awesome! I’ve been wanting to do meal planning but I just suck. That and the kids don’t eat anything but quesadillas, bean burritos, and yogurt. EYEROLL

Leave a Reply

