Crocheted Happiness

27 Aug

I did something scary yesterday.  As I hit “publish,” my heart was actually pounding in my chest and I took three deep breaths to slow its thumping.

I opened an Etsy store.

Crochet Hat

I know, not really so scary, right?  Except it means I’m saying “I’m so good at something that you should buy it.”  It’s hard for me to self-promote like that.  Hard for me to believe that my work is worthy of a storefront.  And it means that I accept that there’s a possibility it will fail.

Now, I have two choices:  I can take every stat personally, every sale.  I can calculate the ratio of dollars per stitch.  I can be crushed if (when?) nobody buys anything.  OR.  Or I can focus on the value in the attempt.  I can say, “Watch me try,” like I used to as a child.  If you haven’t already, you must go read this piece by Planting Dandelions.  She hits the nail on the head.

It cost me $1 to open my store and list the hats I’ve been making just for fun.  Crochet is my self-care.  It soothes my anxiety.  I’m compulsively doing it anyway. So really, if the shop fails, I will have lost only $1 and a little bit of time.  And so I hit “publish.”

Hold me.

Etsy Shop Banner

 

4 Responses to “Crocheted Happiness”

  1. Melissa Lee August 27, 2013 at 11:06 am #

    Your work is GORGEOUS. I hope the sales prove it.

  2. Jaime August 28, 2013 at 10:06 am #

    I can’t wait to place my first order from your shop!

  3. tranquilamama August 28, 2013 at 1:11 pm #

    My grandma used to crochet, and she made us the most beautiful sweaters and hats. I cannot wait to check out your shop. My girls need hats for winter. You can’t have just one, right?

  4. Kyran September 2, 2013 at 11:19 am #

    Good for you, and good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

