The Big Purge

12 Aug

Well, it’s time.  It no longer makes sense for me to hoard strollers, bumbo seats, newborn clothes, and pants with belly pouches.  We’re done.

The only solace is in packing things up to send to expectant friends, I know I will get to see the jumpers and frilly dresses again on their little ones.  And items donated are going to help a new mom care for her child.  Yet I’d be lying if I didn’t admit to holding back tears while sorting through the last of the infant clothing this afternoon, portioning out sets for friends, donations, garbage, and for sale.  It’s equal parts sad and mystifying that my two girls ever fit in those tiny onsies and itty-bitty socks.  But it is time.

I have two big boxes ready to ship to my friends A and L.  And a giant bag of clothes going to Isis Maternity for families in need.  And still there are some beautiful clothes left over.  Things I can’t just toss.  So I’m trying something new.

I’ve created an instagram account called MYBABYSCLOSET and have listed about a dozen items for sale.  Things I hope others will treasure like I have.  I’d love for you to click over and help me purge!

 

My Baby's Closet Instagram Shop

3 Responses to “The Big Purge”

  1. Charity August 12, 2013 at 4:08 pm #

    I just did the big purge a couple weeks ago. I hear ya.

  2. elise August 13, 2013 at 11:20 am #

    I know what you mean too… I had to go through my girls’ stuff before we moved… I just couldn’t justify keeping it in case I have another someday… i was sure glad to be able to keep the boy’s things though–and i gave a bunch of that to my little sister, which was also a nice way to purge a bit. i almost wish this was a girl because of all the cute frilly things out there, but i’m sure glad boy-o will have a baby brother too… mixed-up emotions and baby things! all crazy… (i’m even rambling in my comment!)

  3. Kristin Novotny (@littlemamajama) August 20, 2013 at 5:02 pm #

    I know I’m going to be an emotional wreck when that time comes. It’s gotta feel awesome to be able to share with friends and make a bunch of extra space, though!

Leave a Reply

