Talking Racism With My Four-Year-Old

1 Aug

Based on the positive responses to our original chat about postpartum depression prior to the Climb Out of the Darkness fundraiser for Postpartum Progress, Doodlebug and I decided to tape a conversation about skin color and racism.

Now, I’m no expert.  And watching the conversation, I count many things I wish I had said in a better way and others that I think we still need to discuss.  But it’s a good start.  Talking with your kids about racism is so important.  And it’s not as scary as you might think.  Especially if you bribe them with strawberries and cream cheese icing.

p.s. NutureShock: New Thinking About Children has an excellent chapter about how children think about race and racism and why white parents don’t talk about race.  Worth a read!  Here’s an excerpt from an outside link.  I can’t stress enough how thought-provoking it is.

One Response to “Talking Racism With My Four-Year-Old”

  1. tranquilamama August 6, 2013 at 1:38 pm #

    I use your vlogs as a way to talk to my oldest about the hard subjects. It helps me start the dialogue with her.

Leave a Reply

