Banana Pops

27 Jun

I can’t be the first person to do this and I haven’t checked but I’m pretty sure I’ll not be the first to blog about it either.  But these are just too good (and easy!) not to share.

My youngest (18 months) is teething.  Has been teething.  Okay, is constantly teething.  She is currently working on seven (yes, you read that right) teeth: 3 molars and 4 canine teeth.  It takes, on average, a month for a single tooth to completely erupt, so you can imagine how much fun it’s been around here lately.  Those parenting books that claim “some kids aren’t really bothered by teething,” are full of crap.  I have yet to meet a parent whose toddler didn’t morph into the devil while working on a new tooth.  And rightly so.  A piece of popcorn stuck in between my teeth leaves me gumming nothing but applesauce and popsicles until it is dislodged and I swear never to eat popcorn ever again.  It makes me grateful I don’t remember getting that first set of chompers.

Anyway.  Some days, Bean doesn’t want to eat much of anything.  Cold washcloths, and teething rings get dropped immediately after being handed to her.  And I can only give her so many sugar-filled popsicles in one day without feeling guilty.  Enter the banana.  Perfectly soft and mushy for breakfast, and as it turns out, perfectly cold and chewy when frozen.  Except she didn’t want to pick up the cold banana chunks.

So? I stuck a craft stick in the middle of a leftover piece of banana one morning and popped it in the freezer for later.

You need these in your life.  Truly.  Who doesn’t love how sweet bananas get when frozen?  Like bananas, only better.

banana pops

It’s a no-brainer.  But Doodlebug and I took some snapshots of the process for you anyway:

You'll need: ziploc baggies, bananas cut into chunks, popsicle sticks, one chubby baby knee

You’ll need: ziploc baggies, bananas cut into chunks, popsicle sticks, one chubby baby knee.

When pushing the popsicle stick into the unfrozen bananas, hold the banana firmly and press the stick in slowly.  Doodlebug was able to do this with no trouble at 4 years old.

When pushing the popsicle stick into the unfrozen bananas, hold the banana firmly and press the stick in slowly. Doodlebug was able to do this with no trouble at 4 years old.

Place each banana pop in its own baggie, zipping the bag closed around the top of the stick.  Place in freezer.  It takes about 3-4 hours for the pops to freeze, depending on how big your banana chunks are.

Place each banana pop in its own baggie, zipping the bag closed around the top of the stick. Place in freezer. It takes about 3-4 hours for the pops to freeze, depending on how big your banana chunks are.

Healthy, fun, and because of the stick, my girls think it’s dessert.  I’ve considered rolling them in melted chocolate or sprinkles before freezing, but part of the beauty of these is that they create no mess and have nothing artificial at all.  It’s going to be a summer mainstay here.

Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Banana Pops”

  1. Smldada June 27, 2013 at 2:52 pm #

    We are in love with banana ice cream. Dice the banana into coins (my 5 yr old loves to do this) and freeze. Toss in the food processor with some fresh fruit – strawberries, blueberries, peaches…. The texture is a pretty decent comparison to actual dairy icecream.

  2. Rach (DonutsMama) July 2, 2013 at 5:56 pm #

    That’s a really good idea. I’ll have to remember that for #2. I won’t tell you about Donut’s teething b/c you might hate me…

Leave a Reply

