Talking Climb Out and PPD With My Oldest Daughter

20 Jun

If you’d like to donate to our hike, head on over to Crowdrise!

11 Responses to “Talking Climb Out and PPD With My Oldest Daughter”

  1. BirthTouch.com (@KathyAMorelli) June 20, 2013 at 2:46 pm #

    Hi Susan – What a lovely talk! Thank you for sharing your family with us! Warmly, Kathy

  2. alizaguyer June 20, 2013 at 3:13 pm #

    Can we join you?!
    Email me where to meet up!
    Aliza

  3. Lauren Wichterman June 20, 2013 at 5:09 pm #

    I love, love, love this. I haven’t talked with my 4-year old son about the PPD/OCD I experienced after I had him, and this video makes me feel like I can! I’m so excited for the Climb out of the Darkness Run I’m doing tomorrow — maybe like you that can be the context I use to share my experience with him. Thank you so much!!

    • learnedhappiness June 20, 2013 at 7:23 pm #

      That makes me so, so happy, Lauren. You have nothing to be ashamed of! I like to think my Doodlebug will be a better person because it’s been normalized for her.

  4. Charity June 20, 2013 at 5:20 pm #

    I love it!! My girls watched it with me. Walk proud Susan.

  5. BipolarMomLife June 20, 2013 at 5:48 pm #

    You are awesome, Susan!!! Loved this video and how you’re already talking with your daughter about what you went through. I’ve yet to cross that bridge with my kids. But since I’m also doing the Climb out tomorrow with my family, maybe it’ll be the perfect opportunity. Thank you so much for sharing!!

    • learnedhappiness June 20, 2013 at 7:22 pm #

      Thanks so much. I’ve always talked with Doodlebug about it. On days when my emotions are wrecking havoc, it’s helped so much to be able to tell her about how my “feelings get sick.” Seems easier than trying to hide it all from her.

  6. Andrea B (@goodgirlgonered) June 21, 2013 at 12:59 pm #

    This is so beautiful, my friend. I watched it with my daughter and she loved it. And she turned to me and asked, did that happen to you? I’ve never truly talked to her about it since mine was more PPA, and it’s hard to explain anxiety to someone, let alone a 6yo. For me, anyway. But thank you. This start of a dialogue rocks. I’m walking, but I’m just flying solo – maybe not hiking, but putting myself outside anyway. :>

  7. Kristin Novotny (@littlemamajama) June 22, 2013 at 11:10 pm #

    This is so amazing. You explain it so simply and beautifully to her. *goosebumps*

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Talking Racism With My Four-Year-Old | Learned Happiness - August 1, 2013

    […] on the positive responses to our original chat about postpartum depression prior to the Climb Out of the Darkness fundraiser for Postpartum Progress, Doodlebug and I decided […]

  2. Depression and Anxiety Resources | Learned Happiness - November 17, 2013

    […] may periodically return, but armed with therapy, medication, and support, they are short-lived. Talking Climb Out of the Darkness With My Daughter – Doodlebug and I made a video about postpartum depression and why we were hiking in 2013. A […]

Leave a Reply

