Thank You, Target

3 May

I don’t shy away from nursing in public, for a host of reasons.  Mostly? I’m just feeding my baby.  And I’m not about to put the discomfort of a few strangers above the needs of my child.  But since Bean is 16 months old, she doesn’t often need to nurse while we’re out and about.

Today was a different story.  No matter how many times I offered a sippy and no matter how many toy aisles we walked down, she desperately wanted to nurse in Target, in the middle of our shopping trip.  She signed for milk half a dozen times, but it was when she signed “please,” that I finally paused my shopping to indulge her.

I found a quiet spot behind the children’s clothes and plopped myself down on the ground near the stroller display.  A Target employee came over to ask if I was okay, uncertain why I was sitting on the carpet.  When she noticed I was nursing, I braced to defend myself.

And then she said, “There’s a rocking chair on the endcap where you’ll be more comfortable.  Do you want to move there?” I thanked her and assured her I was fine, finished nursing Bean, and went about my shopping.

I’ve only ever had two strangers address me while breastfeeding.  I’m fortunate that they have both been kind.  And this?  This was exactly how a nursing mother wants to be (and should be) treated when nursing her child, especially by a store employee.

Target has gotten a bad rap in the last few years for their treatment of nursing mothers.  And if I had been treated poorly today, you’d better believe I’d share.  But I bet there are many positive stories, too, and I wanted to be a part of accentuating the positive.

Thank you, Target.  Your team member treated me with kindness and respect.  I really appreciated it.  I hope this is a sign of progress in your company since November of 2011.

Also?  You’re welcome for the $120 I ended up spending despite my short shopping list.  You win.  Again.

5 Responses to “Thank You, Target”

  1. story3girl May 3, 2013 at 2:28 pm #

    I can so picture flopping down on the ground to nurse. So glad you were met with kindness.

  2. Alison May 4, 2013 at 11:42 am #

    Love hearing about positive stories. Good on that lady.

  3. Andrea B (@goodgirlgonered) May 5, 2013 at 1:21 pm #

    That is awesome. She rocks. And yes, we always do spend more than we plan to there. Target ALWAYS wins!!

  4. tranquilamama May 8, 2013 at 3:56 pm #

    So glad that you were met with kindness. I love this post! This is how all nursing mamas should be treated.

  5. Rach DonutsMama May 8, 2013 at 11:16 pm #

    Yay for supportive employees! No mother should be made to feel weird and uncomfortable for doing what we need to do for our babies.

Leave a Reply

