Mamas Comfort Camp Turns ONE! A Celebration AND A Giveaway!

15 Mar

***THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED.  Congratulations to Smldada!***

Have you heard about the over 600 members of Mama’s Comfort Camp and the judgement-free culture of support and belonging we’ve cultivated in our Facebook group?  What started as a small group of online friends has blossomed into a once-in-a-lifetime  virtual sisterhood.  And we’re celebrating our one-year-anniversary!

Mama's Comfort Camp

Some very wise mamas have been helping us celebrate by contributing guest posts over at Mamas Comfort Camp, and we held a twitter party on March 10th.  And later today, I’m teaching a short yoga lesson via vlog, so click on over!

And to celebrate here on Learned Happiness, I’m giving away one of my favorite books.  If you know me, it’s no secret that Brene Brown’s books and research have changed my life.  What I didn’t realize about my life was that I’m not so different from everyone else – that shame and insecurity plague every one of us.  That we all just want to be seen, heard, and validated.  And most of all, that when we change who we are to fit what we think others want, we rob ourselves of true happiness.

It’s because of Brene Brown’s books that I’ve become more confident, more courageous, and more authentic.  Her TED Talk on shame pushed me to start blogging and opened up a whole world for me, where writing became therapy and readers became friends.  On a good day, I now believe that I am worthy of love and belonging, no matter what I have accomplished or what has happened to me.  Brene recently sat down with Oprah to share about her newest book, Daring Greatly.  You’re going to love her.

I Thought It Was Just Me

So in the spirit of comforting mothers everywhere, I’m giving away a copy of I Thought It Was Just Me (but it isn’t): Making the Journey from “What Will People Think?” to “I Am Enough.”  All you have to do enter is leave a comment below, telling me how you take care of YOURSELF in these busy days when there is never enough time.  If you struggle with this – then share how you WISH could could take care of yourself.  A daily meditation? An occasional good book? A hot cup of coffee each morning? A deep breath at the end of a long day?

And please know, if you’re a Mama?  You’re wanted in Mama’s Comfort Camp.  Head on over to HERE to find out how to join.  It’s easy and free!

Happy, Happy Birthday, Mama’s Comfort Camp!  And congratulations to my friend Yael Saar!  What an amazing baby you’ve created!

**legal stuff:  Giveaway closes on March 20th at midnight, EST.  Winner will be chosen using random.org and will be notified via email.  Winner may choose a hard copy or Kindle version of the book.  I am providing this book as a birthday gift to MCC.  I was not compensated for my opinion – I really do just adore Brene Brown!**

CONGRATULATIONS TO SMLDADA, WINNER OF THE GIVEAWAY!

18 Responses to “Mamas Comfort Camp Turns ONE! A Celebration AND A Giveaway!”

  1. Andrea B (@goodgirlgonered) March 15, 2013 at 9:25 am #

    Love that you’re doing this and if I can count as an official entry I’d love to – if not, I’m cool with that, too. I *try* to take care of myself by getting walks outside daily. Fresh air = GOOD for momma!

  2. Lindsay March 15, 2013 at 9:28 am #

    Chatting with you ladies really helps me when I can’t run, read, or nap.

  3. Yael Daphna Saar (@yaelsaar) March 15, 2013 at 9:49 am #

    THANK YOU!
    i love you, I love this post, I love this book, you rock, I’m so grateful you exist in my life and that you are a Den Mother at the Mama’s Comfort Camp.
    ALL the hugs.

  4. Charity March 15, 2013 at 9:58 am #

    I keep hearing you guys talk about Brene. Would be great to get a peek at her writing.

  5. Lesley March 15, 2013 at 10:05 am #

    I knit when I can steal time and now that the weather is getting better, I am trying to go running as much as possible.

  6. Smldada March 15, 2013 at 10:40 am #

    These hectic days, I take care of me by making Fiber Friday (knit night) hosted by a friend of mine a priority. It is hard to get hubby home in time for me to drive 45 minutes (at bedtime) and often I walk out the door the moment he gets home, leaving a wake of crying toddler, half eaten dinners, half dressed kids…. But I get me time. I get a few hours of crochet (which is focused repetitive movement and inhibits stressing), good snacks and conversation with some great women, and an expanding circle of friends.

    You guys have spoken very highly of this author and her books, so I would love to win.

  7. story3girl March 15, 2013 at 1:16 pm #

    A cup of tea does wonders, and a shower is like my magic reset button. Really writing and having meaningful discussions with people I care about are the best things, but on the worst days those things are usually a little beyond my reach.

  8. AJ March 15, 2013 at 1:25 pm #

    I went to yoga this morning, and I actually rested for the whole Shivasana.

    • learnedhappiness March 15, 2013 at 5:59 pm #

      Sometimes I have the hardest time actually resting during Shivasana. Glad you got so much out of it!

  9. jamesandjax March 15, 2013 at 2:10 pm #

    I love this giveaway almost as much as I love you!! xoxo

    You know me–my ultimate act of self-care, which I practice regularly, is a hot bubble bath with some good reading material. It is one of the only things that calms me down and nurtures my soul.

  10. Rach DonutsMama March 16, 2013 at 9:25 pm #

    Yay, really been wanting to read Brene’s books. I take care of myself by making sure I get a cup of tea every morning and I savor it. Also, during nap time, I don’t force myself to do more if I don’t feel up to it–many days I end up napping myself!

  11. Cristi @ Motherhood Unadorned March 17, 2013 at 1:58 am #

    I read, play words with friends, I blog. I take 2 hours every Thursday morning of no kid time. 🙂

  12. Amiyrah Martin (@4hatsandfrugal) March 17, 2013 at 10:56 am #

    I take 5 or 10 minutes to be still and meditate, usually in the morning. This may seem like a small amount of time, but it does help you get centered for the day and not feel so overwhelmed.

  13. quinn0808 March 18, 2013 at 7:50 am #

    Wow. This is cool!! Well I’m very bad at self care. I feel like the pressures of being a sahm make me like that. I see other working moms go to work and then come home and do things I do and I’m in aww of them. So I feel like I HAVE to be doing EVERYTHING. I HAVE to be super woman to even compare myself to them. I’m busy from the moment my feet hit the carpet. But if I was any good at the self care thing I would try to be girly again. I get to shave here and there, but I would do it all. Shave, wear nail polish that I didn’t do in a rush, get my eyebrows waxed and my bits waxed. Heck really really wear makeup. Wear heels!!! That would be my ultimate self care for me. But since that’s not going to happen ill settle for just a long bath and to be able to shave everything at the same time instead of the legs today and armpits tomorrow

    • learnedhappiness March 18, 2013 at 10:03 am #

      Girly time is a huge part of my self-care regimen! I don’t alway get to it, but when I do, I notice I feel SO much better!

  14. Robin Farr March 21, 2013 at 12:02 am #

    Darn, I think I’m 2 minutes late. But I’ll answer anyway – napping! It helps my sanity.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Den Mothers VLOGavanza! - - March 15, 2013

    […] Check out Susan’s blogs today, she is holding a lovely giveaway as a birthday gift for the Mama’s Comfort Camp.  […]

Leave a Reply

