I’m Doing It Right: The Flu Edition

15 Feb

It’s no secret that it’s been a challenging few months health-wise in this house.  I’m honestly starting to weigh the costs and benefits of the oldest’s time at the germ factory we call preschool.  I mean, I *do* want her to learn to read, but I also like being able to breathe through my nose.  I’m torn.

And I don’t know about you, but I think back to the days before kids and long wistful for a time when one could recover from the flu by spending a week in bed.  Back then, having the flu was like a vacation compared to this torture.

So what exactly am I doing right?  I realized this week that I have the medical knowledge befitting a second year medical resident when it comes to my kids and illness.  I have dosages memorized for acetaminophen, ibuprofen, benadryl, and sudafed, and know exactly which one to use based on the symptoms.  I can keep a running record of times medication was dosed for each of us and can identify early symptoms of dehydration and know how to mix my own electrolyte solution.  And perhaps most impressively, I have cared for a sick four-year-old, the worst of all patients, with gentle concern and patience.  I have changed more dirty diapers this week than I think in the last 4 months combined – something I never thought I’d be able to handle before having kids.  All while being sick myself.

In so many moments where I heard my inner-critic whisper, “You can’t do this.  It’s too much,” I shut her up with a silent chant of “courage.”

I know that everyone gets sick, and everyone takes care of their sick kids, but this week feels like a triumph for me.  Sometimes it’s the little things.  Or the things that seem big despite their smallness.  Winning those battles is an exercise in courage.

By the way, I saw today courtesy of Chookooloonks.  If you don’t know who Ze Frank is, you’re in for a treat!

 

JamesandJax.com

9 Responses to “I’m Doing It Right: The Flu Edition”

  1. jamesandjax February 15, 2013 at 11:04 am #

    I think you’re amazing, Susan. I’m currently sick–just a head cold–and so is my husband. Jax is just finishing up treatment for a ruptured eardrum. I have handled this bout a little more Susan-like (aka gracefully) than I’ve handled past sicknesses, when I’ve whined all over Twitter and FB. But man, it’s hard! Kudos to you for doing it so well. And thank you for linking up!

    • learnedhappiness February 15, 2013 at 2:54 pm #

      I’m sorry you’re both sick but I’m glad to hear Jax is on the mend. It *is* hard isn’t it? You give me too much credit, but I’ll take the compliment. =)

  2. Kimberly M (@momgosomething) February 15, 2013 at 1:02 pm #

    One of the perks of being a nurse 🙂
    I’m sorry that you’re all hit with that bug. It plowed through our house…2 times.

    • learnedhappiness February 15, 2013 at 2:52 pm #

      I sure have felt like a nurse the last couple of weeks. Ugh.

  3. tranquilamama February 17, 2013 at 9:45 pm #

    Huge hugs Susan. Next year will be better, I promise. That first year of preschool is brutal. I love Ze Frank. He makes me laugh a lot.

    • learnedhappiness February 18, 2013 at 2:17 pm #

      Oh, I hope so. That’s what I’ve heard about the first winter of preschool. I *really* hope so.

  4. story February 21, 2013 at 9:33 pm #

    I am so proud of you. It’s hard to be patient when you’re sick yourself, and you have handled all of this with incredible grace.

  5. Andrea B (@goodgirlgonered) February 22, 2013 at 10:44 am #

    You are SO doing it right! I have had this post up for a day and kept meaning to come back. Seriously – this is our first year of school, she’s in K, and has been sick way too often for my tastes. This stinks! I hope you guys are on the way to healthier moments! And off to see who Ze Frank is… unless he’s that Disney “chef” character. Then I know. Sad.

  6. Andrea B (@goodgirlgonered) February 22, 2013 at 10:48 am #

    Just watched.

    Whoa.

Leave a Reply

