Our Less-Is-More Thanksgiving

25 Nov

I’m committed to less stress this holiday season.  Instead of filling up my calendar with a list of “shoulds” I’m choosing activities that will bring our family joy, and making the most out of each task.  No more over-scheduling myself and then wondering why the holidays are exhausting.

We started our Less-Is-More holiday this weekend with Thanksgiving at my parents’ home.  I contributed tubes of crescent rolls, a Sara Lee frozen pecan pie, and two adorable grandchildren. No stressful attempt at baking with one moody preschooler and one teething baby at my feet, and no equating my worth with how much food I brought along.  We arrived when we could and let my parents and my brother enjoy the kids while we snuck downstairs to play pool.  Dinner was whenever the turkey was done, and naps were whenever the kids got tired.  We spent the rest of the day relaxing on the couch, watching football and playing cars with the kids.  No expectations.  No grand plans.  No Black Friday shopping.

It was the best Thanksgiving I can remember since those of my childhood.

 

 

 

 

 

I hope your Thanksgiving was wonderful and full of family and love.

 

2 Responses to “Our Less-Is-More Thanksgiving”

  1. tranquilamama November 26, 2012 at 1:18 pm #

    I love this idea. I am working on making this year a less stressful holiday season. I got a little anxious on Thanksgiving, but I got a handle on it before it got out of control. Baby steps, right?

  2. applesndroses November 26, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

    I did this last year with Christmas. And I think I had the best Christmas ever. No family visits, no huge dinners, just having fun as a family. I’m trying it again this year.
    I’m glad you had such a great time with your family.

Leave a Reply

