In Crisis

22 Oct

This past week, two of our Warrior Moms found themselves in crisis. I’m going to let them choose when and how to tell their own stories, but let me assure you they are both safe and on the path to recovery.

The news took me by surprise, as it did many other women in the PPD community. We’re all in different phases of PPD recovery. Some of us are just beginning the journey, while others have stayed around to mentor and support the newest moms. And because our mental illnesses are all individual, our reactions to the devastating news about our friends have been as well.

And that’s okay. Jaime and I found ourselves in need of some massive support on Tuesday evening. Phone calls and texts back and forth helped us both process our feelings of helplessness and fear. We needed to do something. Anything. And so we organized a flower fund. The PPDChat Facebook group contributed over $100 dollars and A’s roses should arrive on Tuesday. They look just like her, don’t they?

What I want you to know is, whatever your reaction to the news, you have to take care of yourself first.  You know yourself best and what you can handle.  So if you need to stay as far away from the crisis as possible, that’s alright.  If you need to call a friend to cry and discuss your fears, do it.  If you want to make a video or an inappropriate (and hilarious) card (I’m looking at you, @lilloveandluck), go for it.

The PPD community is a safe place where you don’t have to earn your spot.  You already belong, just by being yourself and reaching out.  We understand.  Sometimes you’re the one who needs help and sometimes you’re the one who can help.  Both are equally welcome.  Truly.

9 Responses to “In Crisis”

  1. Jess October 22, 2012 at 10:49 am #

    Thank you so much for writing this. It was all so overwhelming but then it feels stupid because whatever you’re going through feels insignificant to what they are fighting. But I’m so so thankful for our community!

    • learnedhappiness October 22, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

      Not stupid at all. Sure, it may seem small compared to what someone else is going through, but it doesn’t make your feelings less important to you. Think of it this way: when my friend Melissa mourns the loss of a member of the diabetic community, it doesn’t send her into a severe BG low. But our illness is triggered by stress. It’s a part of being in this support group and it really is okay.

  2. tranquilamama October 22, 2012 at 11:09 am #

    Susan, that last paragraph sums up exactly how I feel about this wonderful PPD community. Sending you my love and support.

  3. Jaime October 22, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

    I hope this post gets a ton of shares, because its message is powerful and important. Love you, Susan. I could not have made it through the past week without you.

    • learnedhappiness October 22, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

      And me, too. I’m so glad we have each other. So, so glad.

  4. katstone1 October 22, 2012 at 1:10 pm #

    Two thumbs up.

  5. Andrea B (@goodgirlgonered) October 22, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

    Love every word of this. Not so much the ones about our friends in time of crisis, but you get me. xox to you, mama. To the whole lot of the crew.

  6. hotmessnola October 22, 2012 at 3:48 pm #

    So you DID see the text. I combat scary with humor. It’s a gift.

    In all seriousness, I’m glad you said this. It needed to be said. As hard as it is for me to fight the urge to care for others first, I have to remember that someone else’s crisis can send me into my own if I’m not careful.

  7. talkingismyprimaryfunction October 23, 2012 at 5:11 am #

    This made me cry. That is all.

Leave a Reply

