A Moment Alone

11 Sep

I so rarely get any time alone with No1.  Her sister is always just a moment away from needing me and I have one ear her direction at all times.  It’s taken its toll on us both.  But this morning, my husband took the baby with him on an errand and it felt like old times in the house.  Just me and No1.  She was her old self this morning.  No competing for attention, no baby talk, no attitude.  We ate lunch together and both enjoyed the lack of interruptions.  We searched for bugs in the house and had a lady bug funeral.  And she did my hair.

Oh, how I miss this kind of time with her.

Image

I’m linking up with Memories Captured this week!

11 Responses to “A Moment Alone”

  1. Jamie@southmainmuse September 11, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

    Yay. She did a most excellent job on that hair mommy. It does make a difference having those one on one times.

  2. Kimberly M (@momgosomething) September 12, 2012 at 6:58 am #

    That is so adorable!!! I think your hair looks mahhhhvelous. You may have a budding hairdresser on you hands 🙂

    • learnedhappiness September 12, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

      Isn’t it great? Let me know the next time you have a fancy event to attend and I’ll fly her out to you for an updo! 😉

  3. Alison September 12, 2012 at 11:15 am #

    I so know what you mean. I’ve had a few one-on-one hours with the toddler since the baby was born in May. And when my mother in law had the baby for a couple of hours, it was just like old times, just me and my little boy.

    Love the picture, she’s adorable! And so is your hair. 🙂

    • learnedhappiness September 12, 2012 at 1:10 pm #

      My 4-yr-old is a different kid when the baby is around. She ADORES the baby, but acts out all. the. time. to get attention. Thinks it’s fun to act like baby with the baby. So annoying. It is nice to see the old No1 sometimes.

  4. Missy Bedell (@literalmom) September 12, 2012 at 2:50 pm #

    It’s so hard at first, for both Mom and #1. It’ll get better as you both get used to it. But it’ll still be so important to spend time alone with her. My oldest craves it. Even if she thinks she’s getting too old to need it. 😉

  5. Janice (@mommyslounge) September 12, 2012 at 6:50 pm #

    Love the hair.
    I totally relate to this one.
    I think I need to schedule a date with my eldest (7 yr old) too.
    I don’t remember what it was like when it was just me and her.
    Thanks for the reminder!

  6. tayarra September 13, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

    So sweet. I love alone time with them when I can get it.

  7. Galit Breen (@GalitBreen) September 14, 2012 at 6:58 am #

    Ohmyheart, I so cherish one on one time with my kids, too!

    You two sound so happy and sync with each other, and that photo? Is priceless!

    You’re a good mama letting her do your hair! And looking for bugs! 🙂

    {I should let you know that this hard time where it feels like things will never be the same passes. It does. I promise. You’ll find a new groove, and it’ll fit just as well. Until then, times like these and the tears in between them are just fine. You’re doing great, mama!}

  8. Mirjam September 14, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

    I’m glad you had such a wonderful time with your daughter.
    One on one time is So precious. Cute picture!

  9. Nadia Venus September 23, 2012 at 1:01 am #

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    I still don’t have baby No2, but I love it when hubbs takes baby with him — just like the old times. 🙂 the house all for me.

Leave a Reply

