BlogHer 2012

7 Jul

There are a bunch of you who have never heard of BlogHer.  That’s okay.  Like my husband says, the only people who care about blogging conferences and really read blogs are other bloggers, just like the only people who read academic papers and care about academic conferences are academics.  To each his own.  BlogHer is the largest conference for women in social media.  Bloggers from all over will descend on NYC in August to network, learn, and party.  And this year, I’m going!

I’m excited about the sessions – opportunities to get inspired by powerhouse writers and to learn tricks of the trade, both technical and artistic.  I’m excited to attend the parties.  I won an invite to SocialLuxe, people!  And I’ll be dancing my glittery butt off at Sparklecorn.  But I’m really going to meet some of my online friends for the first time.  I’ve truly connected with some spectacular writers, moms, and women online.  We’ve bared our souls but have yet to be in the same room.  And that’s about to change.

Originally, I was going to bring the baby with me.  I was prepared to babywear, take breaks for naps, breastfeed in the middle of sessions, and miss out on some of the social events.  And then I realized…this was my chance to have a little time to myself.  Probably the only change I will have in the next year.

So, I’m leaving the girls with my husband and Mama’s going to PAR-TAY!  I’m going to get to really focus on my writing and connecting with some amazing people.  I’m going to sleep without waking up five times a night (unless one of my roomies snores.  Fess, up, ladies!).  And then I’ll miss my girls something fierce and want to run home.

I can’t wait.

4 Responses to “BlogHer 2012”

  1. postpartumandpigtails July 7, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

    Aww so happy for you!! That’s so exciting and as much as you will miss your girls, it will be SO nice to have time for you and focus on this and connecting! Have a blast!

    • learnedhappiness July 7, 2012 at 10:10 pm #

      Thanks, Andrea! =) I’m a little nervous, but so excited to get inspired!

  2. jamesandjax July 9, 2012 at 9:44 am #

    I’m so excited to share this time with you! And no, I don’t snore. Actually, just this morning I had a little anxiety, since I’m being honest here, about how the heck I’m going to manage sleeping in a room with 3 other people given that I am the lightest sleeper in the whole wide world. I decided I will bring enough ear plugs for all of us! I am SO excited!! Have I mentioned that yet?

    • learnedhappiness July 9, 2012 at 11:02 pm #

      I’m excited, too! I so need a girls’ weekend. But I didn’t realize how nervous I was to leave the baby until today when I booked my train tickets. Nothing a little pink hair, glitter, and booze can’t solve!

Leave a Reply

