Sisters

4 Jul

When we found out we were having a girl with baby No2, we were a little disappointed.  Hubs is the last male of his generation, and so the family name will end with him.  We were hoping for a boy, but then when the tech announced girl, I think we both sighed with relief.  We knew how to do girls.  We had all the stuff.  And deep down, two girls just felt like a good fit for us.

I grew up the oldest sister of two brothers.  Which means I know how to dig for worms, I’m not afraid of snakes, and I’m good with a video game controller.  But I always wanted a sister.  Someone to share secrets with…to share clothes and makeup with.

Now that No2 is 6 months old and can sit and play a bit, big sister is really enjoying the baby.  Watching your children interact is an amazing life experience.  I could watch them play endlessly.  No one makes the baby laugh like No1.  Nobody.  She lights up the moment her big sister comes into the room.  I can just picture them, 10 and 13, whispering about boys, grumbling about how mean mom is about cell phones – It’s how I imagined having a sister would have been like.

So don’t mind me.  I’ll just be here living vicariously through my children.  That’s healthy, right?

6 Responses to “Sisters”

  1. Andrea July 4, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

    That second picture is adorable!! If we have another, I secretly wish for a second girl. I think like that too..we know how to do a girl already! And the bond shared by two sisters can be amazing.

    • learnedhappiness July 4, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

      And this seems so shallow…but it’s delightful pulling back out all my favorite outfits from the first time! 😉

  2. quinn0808 July 4, 2012 at 1:16 pm #

    I love my big sis. She is my best friend!!! But hehe no one can fight like sisters either. Over clothes and things. No that we are older we don’t fight and we alway talk to each other on the phone everyday. But boy my poor mama when we were young. Lol

    • learnedhappiness July 4, 2012 at 1:18 pm #

      I do worry about when they are older and fight. I worry that hubs isn’t ready for the storm of hormones that will be this house in about 14 years. =)

      • quinn0808 July 9, 2012 at 10:58 pm #

        oh yeah … poor hubs.

  3. Kimberly M (@momgosomething) July 5, 2012 at 9:33 am #

    I die of cuteness.
    I would like a girl next if we ever have another but deep down inside I think I was meant to be a mom of boys. And that is totally ok with me. I don’t mind the dirt as long as it stays in the yard.
    I do wish though that I can give Chunky what I had as a child 🙂

Leave a Reply

