Before and After….House Tour

11 Jun

We recently refinanced our house (again) because rates keep dropping.  And when I say “we”, I mean my husband took care of all the paperwork, scheduled all the appointments, and I just showed up to sign my name.  He’s awesome and we’ll save $60 a month, which can help support my Oreo addiction.  Win – win.

We had to clean the house for the appraisal, and while I was initially irritated that hubs only gave me 4 days to make this place appear childless, it ended up being a blessing in disguise.  I feel so much better now that everything is put away, and since it only looks like this twice a year, I snapped as many pictures as I could.

While sorting them on my desktop, I came across pictures of the house from three years ago, when we bought it.  What a difference!

So this post will be long and photo-laden, but it was so much fun looking back and comparing.

The kitchen before renovation.

Kitchen after – new floors, countertop, dishwasher, light, cabinet doors.

Kitchen and dining room before.

Kitchen and dining room after. New lights, curtains, island table.

Living room before. It was 2009, y’all.

Living room after. Plus one grumpy husband and one cat-on-a-chair.

“Dining room” before.

Now it’s a playroom and music studio.

Master bedroom before. It smelled funny, too.

Master bedroom after. Forgive the horrid lighting.

The nursery before. What you can’t see is the multitude of cat toys and the closet full of the only men’s clothing in the house. It was so strange.

Nursery after. This doubles as our guest room.

The preschooler’s room before.

And after…at least part of it.

We really have put our mark on this house, and it feels like home.  Especially with little touches like these:

B&W photos in our master bedroom.

Craft-projects-turned-art above the bed.

A giant art board in No1’s room, complete with mirror and dress up clothes.

Hub’s ukulele collection. I *love* how the red one has wear spots in the finish from his hands. Truly.

The arts and crafts corner.

I guarantee that within five days, the house will no longer appear childless.  My dresser will once again have breast milk stains dotting its surface, the playroom will look like a disaster zone, you will be able to recreate a timeline of the day’s food by looking in the kitchen.  But for now, the house is tidy.  I’m going to bask in its clean glow for as long as I can.

7 Responses to “Before and After….House Tour”

  1. Mirjam Rose (@applesndroses) June 11, 2012 at 11:19 am #

    Your house looks wonderful! I love what you did to the master bedroom.
    Enjoy your childless clean home.

  2. lahikmajoe June 11, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

    Ok, I like all of this. The before and after shots. The status on your Oreo addiction. All of it.

    But what forced me to comment was the ukuleles. I’ve played guitar for years, but just recently got a ukulele and cannot put it down.

    • learnedhappiness June 11, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

      =) Thanks! My dad works in Hawaii for months out of the year and got No1 a toy ukulele a year ago. My husband started playing around with it and fell in love. Now we own 4.

  3. Alta June 12, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    Will you come visit me and remodel my home? Love it. Although I think you should have kept the pink/purple carpet. (kidding!) Your master bedroom is serene.

    • learnedhappiness June 13, 2012 at 8:59 am #

      Sure! I have tons of leftover pink carpet! Would you like me to bring it with me? 😉

  4. Rach (DonutsMama) June 20, 2012 at 10:39 pm #

    Beautiful transformation. Can you come help me with ours? I love the art above the bed in your room. How’d you do that?

    • learnedhappiness June 26, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

      Thanks! I painted it from a sketch. Really happy with how it turned out. And you can’t beat $10 canvas and $15 for paint.

Leave a Reply

