Image

Phoning It In

9 Apr

20120409-191745.jpg

Today’s post was supposed to be a “Keep Calm And” poster, but my friends? This is where I’ve been all day long. I’ve dodged phone calls, avoided chores, and have yet to brush my teeth. It’s 7pm.

The baby is teething. I think. Maybe. See, she just keeps hollering at me and I don’t speak “screamy.” Nobody’s sleeping at night, so it’s a little bit stressful around here. See those dark circles? I’m starting to think they are permanent.

And I’m okay. Tired, stressed, but in love with my girls and sympathetic to what is surely a traumatic experience for No2. Because I’m being realistic about what I can control and what needs to be done, I’m hanging in there.

So I’m literally phoning this in, typing with my thumb. Cutting myself some slack. In my battle against anxiety, that’s my secret weapon. And it’s a sharp one. With pointy spikes. And a laser gun.

4 Responses to “Phoning It In”

  1. katery April 9, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

    hang in there mama.

  2. Aubrey Anne April 9, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

    Love!! Perfect post. Sending love xoxo

  3. Ursula Ciller April 13, 2012 at 8:13 am #

    It’s so tough when the little ones don’t sleep much at night – I so relate to that. I felt like a living zombie for the best of at least 4 months with my 1st. I really like plugging out the phone line when I’m too tired or busy – the tranquility! Even at 1.5 years of age, I check up on little one 3 times a night. Keep your ears pointy (a translated European saying), this hard time has come and it will go too – it just means you’re a great and caring mum 🙂

Leave a Reply

