Now You See Me…

3 Apr

Prompt: If you had a superpower – what would it be? How would you use it?

This is easy.  Teleportation.

The beauty of the internet (and twitter specifically) is that it allows you to instantly connect with people.  In my case, people who are struggling with the same mental health issues I am.  At any moment, day or night, I can search for #ppdchat and find love, support, and virtual hugs.  I can turn to my Facebook groups and know that the mamas on there will know just what to say.  And I’ve skyped or hungout or facetimed (poor spell-checker is having a fit over those verbs) with a handful of them, making what I hope to be life-long connections.  I’m convinced the internet is a key reason I was able to manage my antenatal depression so well and am PPD-free this time around.  It’s also the reason I’m still breastfeeding (my baby thanks you, twitter!)

Yes, the internet is a great tool for those of us suffering from and advocating for mental illness.  And virtual hugs are nice.  But how awesome would it be to be able to just pop over to your virtual friends and hug them in person?  I got to meet Katherine Stone in person in February and it was intense, amazing, and thrilling.  I get to meet a ton of my fellow bloggers in August at BlogHer 2012.  But what I’d really love is to be able to see a cry for help on twitter, wiggle my right pinky toe (everybody knows that’s where superpowers really reside), and throw my arms around a mama in need.

And?  I’m dying to meet Yuz from Not Just About Wee in person.  She lives in Australia.  I adore her.  And plane tickets are expensive.

One Response to “Now You See Me…”

  1. Kimberly M (@momgosomething) April 3, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

    I want to stop time so that I can sleep. A. Lot. Perhaps lay out in the sun longer. Perhaps I’d pee and take a shower by myself…scrapbook…basically I’m looking at some serious alone time 😉

Leave a Reply

