Things I’ve Learned

23 Mar

Inspired by my friend Yuz at Not Just About Wee.

It’s funny to wake up one day and realize you are the mom. No longer the child craving adulthood, the college kid denying it, you finally have to admit that the sign your mom had hanging in her kitchen saying “By the time you are old enough to realize your mother was right, you have children who think you are wrong,” speaks the truth.  And all the things you thought you knew have changed.  Having kids changes you, changes your priorities, changes your experiences.  I’m glad to say I know more now that I’m in my thirties and a mom of two.  And I can assert with confidence that when I’m 40, all this will change again.

What I’ve Learned:

  • The phrase “sleeping like a baby” is full of crap. I’m sleeping like a baby right now and it sucks.  I’m up every two hours.
  • You love your kids with a fierceness that can be frightening and exhilarating.
  • Babies are helpless. Really helpless.
  • Marriage is a partnership – it will not always be fun but if you choose the right person, you will fight through the trenches together and come out the other side better for it.
  • You can be friends with people you’ve never met.  Good friends, who you share your deepest secrets with.
  • Vulnerability makes you stronger.
  • When you have kids, you end up throwing away a ton of food.
  • Breastfeeding is a relationship. It’s a conversation between mother and child. It can’t be forced but perseverance pays off.
  • It’s okay for moms (and dads) to need a break from their kids.  Healthy even.
  • With kids, everything is a phase.  Even the good stuff.
  • Toddlers love water. A sink full of water and Dawn is good for two hours of fun.
  • I crave control. Having kids is an exercise in chaos. It’s okay to still be learning how to cope with this conflict.
  • You have to learn how to trust your gut as a parent. And that your kids will show you what they need.
  • I am guilty of passive aggressive loud diaper changing at 2am when I’m the only person awake. This is immature.  I’m not sure I can stop it.
  • Antidepressants are not “happy pills”. They are “let you be yourself pills”.  And being yourself makes you happy.
  • It’s okay to need help. It’s even better to ask for it.

3 Responses to “Things I’ve Learned”

  1. Rebecca March 23, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

    “I am guilty of passive aggressive loud diaper changing at 2am when I’m the only person awake. ” HAhahahahaha I did this. I would also leave the diaper pail open on purpose to stink up the husbands room. Bahahahaha.. I totally didn’t care either.

  2. Rebecca March 23, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

    “I am guilty of passive aggressive loud diaper changing at 2am when I’m the only person awake. ”
    HAhahahahah I did that. I was guilty of purposely leaving the diaper pail lid open after overnight diaper changes just to stink up the husbands room. Bahahaha I so didn’t feel bad about it either.

  3. postpartumandpigtails March 24, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

    Great post! I am guilty of passive aggressive diaper changes at 2am too! I laughed when I read this 🙂

Leave a Reply

