Mother’s Pride

18 Mar

Thanks to Charity over at Our Giggles and Grimaces for inspiring us to be proud of our successes.  As mothers and women, we don’t brag about ourselves enough.  We worry that it will look like boasting, or will intimidate others, so we pretend to be smaller than we are. I’m so glad she’s asked us to hold our heads up high and share the good!

I’m proud of myself for….hmmm…you know what?  I’ve faced a lot of adversity in the last three years and I’ve always joked that I didn’t have to do it with grace – that I just needed to survive.  But when I look back, I’m proud of how I’ve handled myself.  I’ve come through the PPD, the anxiety, the antenatal depression, the baby’s birth, two herniated disc episodes, and the death of two grandparents with composure and introspection.  I’ve asked for help, spoken up and called doctors, gone to therapy, and done the work to get better.

As a mother, I’ve made breastfeeding No2 a priority.  As long as I believe it’s still in her best interest, I will continue to fight for it.  I’ve had to be flexible and adjust my expectations of what breastfeeding will be for us, which has been the hardest part.  But I’m making it work.

I’ve coped with No1’s toddler antics calmly and rationally in the last few months.  She’s so very three and still adjusting to having a baby sister, so things have been tense.  But I believe I parent her with a good balance of discipline and affection.

I went back to teaching lessons 6 weeks after the baby was born.  I missed the kiddos and worried they would get behind, but mostly, I did it for me. It’s my “In the Zone” time and I love it.  It’s a ton of work to make it happen each week and I couldn’t do it without my awesome family and friends, but I’m proud of myself for being gutsy enough to give it a try.

So there you go.  That feels pretty good, actually.  Won’t you join us?

Head on over to Our Giggles and Grimaces and link up!

8 Responses to “Mother’s Pride”

  1. talkingismyprimaryfunction March 18, 2012 at 12:00 pm #

    Well done lady. As a mom who formula fed the twins, I think you stated your feelings well and with love.

  2. Kimberly M (@momgosomething) March 18, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

    These are so many reasons to be so proud of yourself. you are a wonderful Mama. xoxo

  3. tranquilamama March 18, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

    This is a wonderful list. You have handled it with grace and a sense of humor. You are doing an awesome job!

  4. jamesandjax March 19, 2012 at 8:51 am #

    If I ever have a no. 2, I hope I handle things as well as you. You’re an inspiration! So proud of you, Susan. xoxo

  5. @YaelSaar March 19, 2012 at 10:11 am #

    honey you rock so hard — you are a diamond mama!
    love you.

  6. story3girl March 19, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

    You should be proud. So proud. You are an awesome mama and an awesome person. And you have a kid who plays quietly in her room, so you win right there.

  7. Charity C (@signingcharity) March 21, 2012 at 6:12 am #

    You are doing a great job. Parenting is hard and that leap from one to two is especially difficult. I am proud of you for finding balance in so many areas. And proud of you for having a good perspective on nursing. Thank you for linking up. Thank you.

  8. Ursula Ciller March 22, 2012 at 3:38 am #

    I know I wish I could give my baby more attention then I do (gees 4 ‘I’s’ – a new world record!), but there is always heaps to do (housework, figuring out how to make ends meet, etc.). As mothers we give it our best shot and that’s pretty damb good.You’ve had so many issues to deal with and I think you have done brilliantly 🙂

Leave a Reply

