Image

Survival

10 Feb

20120210-195546.jpg

I keep reminding myself that all we have to do for a while is keep two children alive. It doesn’t have to be pretty and my kitchen doesn’t have to be clean. But I feel so much better when it is…like the newborn chaos is a bit more manageable if I can actually see the kitchen counter. And days when I blow dry my hair? Bliss.

It’s a fine balance, letting go of perfection while allowing yourself simple luxuries of the old “normal”.

This has been a hard week. But we made it and we don’t have to do it again. So I can say with tired yet dogged hope that we will continue surviving.

In the meantime, I’m gonna soak up the moments that make it all worthwhile.

3 Responses to “Survival”

  1. Jenny February 10, 2012 at 8:11 pm #

    I love this post. I wish I would have realized that when BG was born 15 months ago. My expectations were unrealistic. You are doing a great job.

  2. elise February 10, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

    this reminded me of another of my new-mom friends posts… http://kierenknowsbest.blogspot.com/2012/02/good-days-look-like-this.html
    and just so you know… i actually miss those days already šŸ˜‰

  3. story3girl February 10, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

    Love this post sweetie. I know it’s frustrating, but you are doing so great. We never give ourselves as much credit as we deserve.

Leave a Reply

