Feeding Log Poll

1 Jan

I’ve noticed something interesting this time around with No2…and it got me wondering.

How many new moms fill out the “feeding/diaper” log the hospital sends you home with?  The log I got this time was extremely detailed and intimidating.

Won’t you please take a moment and take my poll? If you kept track on the hospital log, on your own, or using an app, please let me know!

::bats eyelashes and looks sleep deprived and pathetic in an attempt to guilt you into helping out::

8 Responses to “Feeding Log Poll”

  1. beckykid January 1, 2012 at 6:27 pm #

    I logged feeding time & amounts but never worried about diaper business unless he was sick.

  2. Lea January 1, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

    I kept a log in a notebook for both boys. First son had weight issues since day one, so we were meticulous, almost obsessive about the log. My hubs came to hate “the notebook”. I think the log is important, ESP at the beginning to make sure things are literally flowing correctly. With the second, I kept a much more informal log, and when weight and stuff stabilized at about 3-4 weeks, we stopped. I think moderation is kere here too.

  3. Amanda Hunterson (@AVPH) January 1, 2012 at 6:39 pm #

    So I started with the SkipHop’s Day to Night Baby Log for my first, Then moved in the Apps and got Total Baby *iPhone app and used it to track a few feedings and diapers for my second.

    When I was crying at the LC center at the hospital because I thought my first was always hungry because she latched on Morning through Night, I was told as long as the baby is pooing and peeing and the most important key gaining weight then you shouldn’t worry about keeping a log. The nurses like to see it in the first weeks because they want to make sure the baby’s insides are working correctly. I have never had a nurse or a doctor take the sheet of paper that they handed me about breastfeeding or how many poos and pees they had.

    I know it can be overwhelming because of the importance of keeping your child healthy and fed. Don’t worry and breath about this as long as the baby has good feeds and you don’t want to keep a log, don’t worry about it.

  4. AddyB January 1, 2012 at 7:00 pm #

    I kept track with Brennan, but when I had Alex, the chart overwhelmed me and I didn’t use it once I came home. I used him as a guide and went by his schedule. For the first month, he was on the every 2 hours routine…

    (((HUGS))) If the chart is too intimidating, try making up your own method for keeping track. Trust your instincts, even when it feels like you don’t know what you’re doing.

  5. Lindsay January 1, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

    I only did it for a couple of weeks. It took too much time!

  6. story3girl January 1, 2012 at 8:40 pm #

    Umm, I logged in the hospital. By the time I got home I had stopped. She nursed every half hour at night, and I woke her up to eat every 3 hours during the day. She pooped every time she ate. I was never concerned.

  7. Smldada January 1, 2012 at 11:47 pm #

    I did for both my girls. The midwife chart for my second was incredibly simple. Listing of each hr or 24 hrs (first 7 days) circle each hour you fed during. Listed w and d in appropriate amounts for age. Circle when you changed them.

    My first was a 34 week premie who dropped excessive weight, was jaundiced, got a staph infection at 11 days… I kept a simple journal noting how long feeds were and dirty diapers. my second I trusted myself more but the on call ped that checked her at 30 hrs old said she ad a 12 oz weightless and ignored the different scales, lots of poop, milk not in, and tried to panic me.

  8. mamazombie January 2, 2012 at 5:32 am #

    Honestly, I just kept track of about how many wet diapers, but anytime anything seemed off to me, we started tracking in excel to get a pattern

Leave a Reply

