Meal Plan September 26th -October 2nd

25 Sep

Back on the ol’ Tumblr blog, I attempted a weekly meal plan and grocery list post.  It got to be so much of a chore that I was avoiding making grocery lists at all…so I quit to focus on writing only when I really felt like I had something to process.  For no good reason, I got inspired tonight to meal plan here.  We’ll see if it sticks this time.

Staying organized is a huge part of my plan for staying healthy – physically and mentally. Each week, I make a meal plan and shop accordingly.  In a good week, I only have to go once to the store, and I can shop with the toddler in about an hour. Not too shabby.  Lately, our dinners have been a little less home-cooked and more “ease oriented”.  Like the euphemism for microwavable/premade? Me too. But now that fall’s here, I’m craving some good food – food that makes you feel better inside and out.  Perhaps this will only last a few weeks before I’m too tired and big to do anything except call for a sandwich from the couch…but in the meantime, I’d like to try to get back really cooking, and posting my meal plans here.  Also?  I need to test recipes to see what freezes well, because part of my postpartum care plan includes a deep freezer full of meals ready to bake or warm up.  So if you have a favorite meal that freezes well, PLEASE send it my way!!!  I’ll let you know how the freeze-and-reheat experiments go!

This week:
Monday – Cheese Pizza and Steamed Veggies: I’m sick, DB’s sick.  It’ll be an easy night, folks.

TuesdaySlow Cooker Chicken Curry  with Rice: will cut back slightly on the coconut and add some frozen green peas right before serving.  (Egg and Cheese Tortilla Wrap with Apple Slices for the toddler)

Wednesday – Dinner at my mom’s house.  We spend the night on Wednesdays and I don’t have to worry about dinner.  It’s. Awesome.

Thursday – Leftover Chicken Curry (Chicken Nuggets and Steamed Veggies  for DoodleBug)

Friday – Salmon with Curried Squash Hash

Saturday – Grilled Chicken Breast on Salad: Thanks to Tasty Eats at Home for the idea! (DoodleBug will eat some chicken pieces and assorted salad bits, maybe a dish of applesauce and some bread)

Sunday – “Leftover Chicken or Pork ” Quesadillas, with Whole Grain Santa Fe Rice

One Response to “Meal Plan September 26th -October 2nd”

  1. Alta September 27, 2011 at 10:03 am #

    Thanks for linking to my recipes. And I love grilled chicken on salad cause for me, it’s a no-think dinner. I know how to cut up salad stuff and grill a chicken breast. No recipe reading and I could do it in my sleep. Those types of meals are a necessity, especially when you’re trying to keep away from those pre-made meals but don’t feel like doing anything difficult. As for freezer stuff, I’m all about soups and stews. How about Tomatillo Turkey Chili? http://www.tastyeatsathome.com/2009/11/tomatillo-turkey-chili/ You could do this with chicken too. And hope you and DB are feeling better!

Leave a Reply

