All Together

19 Sep

I know I look like I have it all together.  My kitchen floors are usually swept and I love a clean countertop.  The toys in the playroom are organized into labeled bins.  Most weekdays I manage to curl my hair and even put on a sweater with my favorite necklace.  I bake a mean whole-wheat flour zucchini muffin and am a master of the slow cooker.  I sew pillows and curtains and can craft up a storm.  Some days I even get around to a blog post or two.

The truth is that some days I actually am put-together, and I think it’s okay to feel good about that.  I work my ass off, as a teacher, as a mother, and to keep myself healthy…and it’s more than okay to be proud of my hard work and the support network I’ve built.  I have a good routine, a wonderfully-supportive husband (who does laundry and dishes…hello!), and close friends and family who help me with everything  from babysitting to dinners.  My therapist and psychiatrist are amazing, intelligent women who I trust and can be completely honest with.  Oh, and the miracle of modern science.  I mean, really.  Without the meds?  I’m a mess.

So sometimes, things really are as good as them seem around here, but the last thing I want is to intimidate anyone or contribute to the myth of “supermom”.  Because there are days (oh, so many days) when I am in bed until 11:30 am watching DoodleBug trash my bedroom with stuffed animals and hair curlers.  We eat our fair share of chicken nuggets in this house during the week.  Oh, I am currently “storing” 5 science experiment-worth Gladware containers in my fridge because I don’t want to clean them out tonight.  I haven’t shaved my legs in 4 days.  And I’m pretty sure what’s in the dryer right now is a mix of toddler clothes, dinner napkins, and my sweaters.

I’m  sure I’m not the only one.  In fact, I bet the above paragraph would sound hauntingly familiar to any mom.  The problem is that we don’t do enough bragging about our good days, our strengths and talents, or the fierce love we have for our children.  And then we beat ourselves up for the bad days, comparing ourselves to others.  We see beautiful Facebook pics,  a gorgeous blog design with insightful rhetoric, or a mom out with her kids who was able to find a little time to put some makeup on and we let it make us feel worse about ourselves.  I promise, those moms have their sweatpant days, too.  I can guarantee you they’ve murmured, “just eat your dinner so you can go to bed and I can have some peace and quiet” under their breath.  And because of the wonder of digital cameras, they’ve deleted pictures because their eyes looked too puffy or the kid was picking his nose instead of smiling.

I’d like for this blog to be a place I feel comfortable sharing both my bad days and good.  I want to be able to come here and boost my self-confidence and self-worth with positive posts and beautiful pictures of my family.  And I want to be able to tell you how I fell apart over the smallest trigger.  I want you to cheer me on, either way.  My mistakes do not cancel out my successes.  Sharing both makes for a more complete me.

So in the spirit of sharing, here’s a little dose of reality from my week.  (Click pictures to enlarge and read captions)

This Wednesday, I’ll be posting my best sweatpants picture, inspired by some late-night hilarity with my friend A’Driane over at Butterfly Confessions.  Won’t you join us in celebrating the days we don’t have to have it “all together”?

One Response to “All Together”

  1. AddyB September 20, 2011 at 7:07 am #

    BRAVO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Again so wonderfully well written. The last paragraph is my favorite:
    “I’d like for this blog to be a place I feel comfortable sharing both my bad days and good. I want to be able to come here and boost my self-confidence and self-worth with positive posts and beautiful pictures of my family. And I want to be able to tell you how I fell apart over the smallest trigger. I want you to cheer me on, either way. My mistakes do not cancel out my successes. Sharing both makes for a more complete me.”

    Yes sharing both does. You go girl, in your sweatpants and no makeup! You look amazing and are beautiful regardless. Thank you for showing us the other parts of you and for being authentic….it pretty much adds up to YOU ROCK. 🙂

Leave a Reply

