It’s Official: This Is For Real

13 Sep

Lately I’ve been grappling with baby names.  For the life of me, I can’t seem to find a name that fits (and that hubby hasn’t vetoed).  Honestly?  I kind of hate naming babies.  It’s torture for a perfectionist to choose something so permanent, not even knowing who the little person will be.  Deep down I know it’s not that big of a deal.  It is just a name.  I’ve done it before, and it worked out well.  We love DoodleBug’s name.  Still, I’m struggling.

Family names?  Mildred.  Boyer.  Lois.  All too old-fashioned.  I mean, I’m a traditional-kind-of-name girl, but those are just a little too…stuffy.

And then there are the names that past students have ruined forever.  Amber.  Alyssa.  Natalie.  Those names will forever belong to those girls…and not in a good way.

It’s a complex process for me.

The little therapist who lives in my head (Anybody else a member of this little club?  I believe membership is free after you’ve been to actual therapy.) says that even if I found “THE” name, I still wouldn’t be able to commit.  I suppose she’s right.  Once we pick a name, it all becomes a little more real.  Somehow, even with the baby paraphernalia blanketing the house and Baby Girl kicking inside my ever-growing stomach, I manage to  live in denial about the change that is coming.  My girlfriends with two kids tell me it’s a familiar feeling – you are so busy with life, the second pregnancy ninja-sneaks by you, until BAM!  You’re holding a newborn in your arms and repeating the words “gentle, please” so often they have lost their meaning.

Am I ready for this to be real?  I suppose I don’t have much of a choice, seeing as Baby Girl is doing this:

 

The reality is that avoiding naming her isn’t keeping her from existing.  I so want her to exist, but I’m terrified at the same time.  So, I’m gonna take a deep breath, accept that this is scary and new (and that’s okay), and pick a name.  I can do this.

p.s.  How hot are the sweatpants?  I mean, really.  My belly pics just keep getting sexier and sexier.

3 Responses to “It’s Official: This Is For Real”

  1. AddyB September 13, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

    OMG OMG OMG OMG! First, WOW. The sex appeal of those sweats is coming through the screen and oozing down my monitor! HAHAHA-no seriously, comfort is always sexy mama-rock it!

    Second, this video is so precious! So freakin cool! 3rd-your GF’s with 2 kids are right-the second does sneak by you, it’s a stealthy ninja for sure and makes you go “WHOA. How’d this happen?” BUT-it’s a doable adjustment. Just tell the perfectionist in you to back off for a few months so you can allow yourself time to get used to it and adjust to this new dynamic. I have to talk to my inner perfectionist all the time in this department lol. You can do this. And don’t sweat the name-it will come.

    Love your perspective on this-wonderful post….and yea, membership in the “little therapist” club is free after you pay your initial dues 😉

  2. elise September 13, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

    little ninja is awesome!
    LOVE the video!!! i loved laying in my bed watching my belly move like that, but i never would have recorded it (i have ubs–ugly belly syndrome–it gets worse with pregnancy). isn’t it amazing!?!
    and yes, it does creep up on you, but i felt a much faster personal connection to baby2 than baby1 after she was born.
    and double yes, the hardest thing about pregnancy for me isn’t the back-pain, the constant need to pee, the sciatica, or general hard time sleeping and harder time being awake to take care of other responsibilities, it’s the name! good luck!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sweatpant Crotch | ButterflyConfessions's Blog - September 20, 2011

    […] Posted on September 20, 2011 by AddyB Last week, I was watching this video my friend Susan  posted on her blog of her baby moving around in her belly. I know that sounds very […]

Leave a Reply

