Embarrassing Truths

20 Aug

I spend a great deal of time here writing deep, meaningful posts.  Lest you think I have it together all the time and spend my waking hours philosophizing, let me share some embarrassing little nuggets of truth:

  1. While I may write eloquently, I frequently misuse words when I speak.  Thankfully I married a man who likes to correct my grammar and diction.  It’s a win all-around.
  2. I will scream if a tiny spider crawls in my direction.  Big spider?  No worries.  Little spider?  Who knows where it could hide or crawl in when I’m not looking.  And I will run with arms flailing from a mosquito.  Really.  Like Kermit-the-Frog flail.
  3. I was a die-hard band geek in high school and college.  Die.  Hard.
  4. I like to imagine I have a sophisticated sense of humor.  But honestly?  This had me giggling in the middle of the grocery store like Anderson Cooper on CNN. Yes.  I stopped and took a picture.  Because apparently I’m really just twelve years old and love a good penis joke.

Please tell me you laughed too.

4 Responses to “Embarrassing Truths”

  1. elise August 20, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

    hehehe… who wouldn’t laugh 🙂 (though i must admit, i wouldn’t have taken a picture) and i think if that’s the worst you can do, you’re probably all right 🙂

  2. story3girl August 20, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    LOVE it! It’s nice to see that other people are human too. 🙂 And I was totally a band geek too.

  3. Megan Welch Grantonic August 21, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    I completely laughed at your pic! And yes, I remember the #3 days, but you were a kick-a%# flute player because of it! (I always admired your passion) I haven’t touched an instrument since that senior year, but music will always be such a huge part of my life. I’m so glad we get to pass that on to our kids in some way! HUGS!

  4. Alta September 26, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    So I’m behind on my reading, so I’m finally getting to this. And yes, I laughed. I’m also the dork that walks by the can of Spotted Dick in the British section at the store and giggles. Have gotten better about spiders though – that is until last night, when I went to slip on a pair of shoes to go cut some herbs from the garden, and felt something move in my shoe. I freaked and kicked off my shoe (sent it flying into my kitchen cupboard) and there was a BIG. HAIRY. SPIDER. I mean like half-dollar sized big. IN MY SHOE. I think that set me back in my progress towards overcoming spider fears.

Leave a Reply

