Happy Mother’s Day

8 May

Badge

I’m honored to be participating in the Postpartum Progress Mother’s Day Rally for Moms’ Mental Health.  The fact that I’m even in a place where I can participate is amazing to me – because 2 years ago, I thought I’d never be myself again…never be happy again.  And yet here I am, being challenged daily by my willful toddler, still working through my anxiety, but happyJoyfulGratefulMyself.

If you haven’t already, please click on over to the rally.  There will be a new letter every hour, with messages of hope for moms everywhere.  I know for many of the writers, sharing their story hasn’t been easy, and your support (and comments!) will mean the world.

If you’re visiting from Postpartum Progress, welcome.  I’m so glad you’re here.  I just starting writing a few months ago to shake the last bit of shame out of my mind, to share what it’s like to live with an anxiety disorder; to show that you can survive PPD, get saddled with a life-long mental health diagnosis, and still thrive as a parent…and a person.  It’s a work in progress, but putting my truth out there for (potentially) everyone to read has so far been a great experience and I look forward to seeing where blogging takes me.

More About the Rally

Why I Write About Mental Health

On Explaining Anxiety to Friends and Family

Living with Mood Swings

How Therapy Changed My Life

Fear of Passing Anxiety on to My Daughter

Learned Helplessness…and Learned Happiness

I wish you a Happy Mother’s Day.  One filled with love and joy.

Leave a Reply

