Mother’s Day Rally

30 Apr

IsurvivedPPD1I’ve been asked to participate in something life-changing.  Over a year ago, when I was still digging myself out of the hole PPD left in my life, I stumbled across Katherine Stone’s blog, Postpartum Progress.  Katherine started Postpartum Progress after surviving Postpartum OCD with her first child.  It is now the most widely-read blog on postpartum mood and anxiety disorders, and Katherine’s full-time job.  While the blog’s endless resources are amazing, it’s Katherine who is really changing lives.  She’s managed to create a safe place for women touched by postpartum mental health issues to connect – a community of understanding and support.  Women who are currently battling for their mental health turn there for help.  Survivors turn there for a sense of belonging.  And new moms read it to gain perspective on what life as a mother can be…and what it doesn’t have to be.  Her website was instrumental in helping me really heal.  She was the one who showed me how not alone I really was.  She contributed to my HOPE.

For the third year in a row, she is holding a Mother’s Day Rally.  Each hour on Sunday, May 8th, she will post a different letter from survivors and experts, honoring mothers everywhere and advocating for mothers’ emotional heath.  I am honored to be participating and so grateful for the opportunity to reach out to other moms – to give back to the community that gave me so much.

I hope you will join me on Mother’s Day over at Postpartum Progress.  Stand with me as I use my truth to combat stigma and shame.  Come celebrate and honor mothers everywhere by spreading awareness and understanding of postpartum mood and anxiety disorders.  It’s the best Mother’s Day gift I can think of.

Leave a Reply

